Image of Hasaacas players jubilating with the 1985 FA trophy has surfaced on the internet and Club Writer George Duah has had to delve deep to tell its story…

Goals from Olabode Williams and Henry Acquah helped Hasaacas FC to secure its 5th title after a 2-1 win against Asante Kotoko at the Accra Sports Stadium.

Events leading to the game made for a perfect final.

Led by Legendary P.S.K Paha, the Coach of the team, Hasmal fled from its base in Sekondi-Takoradi to secure what will become the Club’s first and only FA Cup title in history.

There were several successes preceding this feat, chief among them was the 1977 league trophy, which was the club’s first recognized and only professional league trophy.

Late Emmanuel Quarshie’s 1980 topscorer award with 19 goals in the Ghana Premier League is the only time in the history of Ghana football that a player has done that from the Western Region.

It’s also significant that this be mentioned; Joseph Ato Bissah winning the Ghana Premier League best player in 2009 is the only time a player from the Western Region has done so in the history of the competition – stabilizing Hasmal’s Giants of the West tag.

Before the 1985 FA Cup milestone, Hasaacas had secured on the bounce SWAG Cup titles for the 1983 and 1984 seasons. The team beat Mali’s Stade De Malian 3-1 on aggregate in the semifinal and beat Nigeria’s Spartan’s of Owerri 0-1 on aggregate in the final to secure the 1982 WAFU Cup.

Not only that, the Giants made the headlines yet again by beating Hearts of Oak in the 1985 Super Cup to secure its 6th title, the Phobians won the Ghana Premier League title for the 1984/1985 season.

It was an era which is easily described as the Club’s best moments in history.

Hasaacas whipped city rivals Eleven Wise in the semifinals before heading up to tame the Porcupines.

The game was initially postponed at the instance of Asante Kotoko who complained of food poisoning and had it played at a later date.

Hasaacas wouldn’t budge and will triple the effort at training when the players took it upon themselves to put in the much needed effort.

The players were shouldered high for the effort they put in prior to the final day at the Accra Sports Stadium. To keep their form and shape, the team will move to the sands at the beach every morning to train awaiting the Porcupines.

Olabode Williams gifted Hasmal the opener in the early embers of the game just after the kickoff; the diminutive attacker dribbled his way up magnificently and was brought down just on edge of the penalty box which he expertly turned in to give Hasmal the lead.

The team combined beautifully to send Hasmal 2-0 up through forward Henry Acquah.

Asante Kotoko pulled a goal back and that wouldn’t be enough to stop the Giants, as we marched all the way to Sekondi-Takoradi with the coveted trophy.

Hasaacas will go on in 1988 to win the Gala Cup to make it seven trophies in total and become the Western Region’s most successful football club.

Below are players who featured in the game.

Hasaacas FA Cup Champions 1985

Squatting from left to right:
Isaac Tandoh, Emmanuel Quarshie (Abegah), Elvis Mensah (Captain).

Standing from right to left :
Olabode Williams, Bight Obeng, Henry Acquah, Aikins, George Brown, Samuel Ayippey, late Degraft Smith, Papa Tanoa, late Enoch Koomson and Goalkeeper Abraham Boison.

Other players not captured in the picture were: Samuel Quarm, Robert Kwofie, Kakraba Sey, Kojo Ewusie, Kweku Christian, Ayittey Crankson, Goalkeeper John Barnes, Samuel Ayippey, Kwame Tawiah Nyaako, Paul Mensah and Emmanuel Vanderpuye.